IAQTC: Webinars

Radon Testing and Mitigation Webinar
February 27, 2013 at 2:00 pm MST (1:00 pm PST, 3:00 pm CST, 4:00 pm EST)

    Click HERE to register.

Agenda
  • Health Impacts - Brandy Toft, Leech Lake Tribe
  • Community Education and Outreach - Brandy Toft, Leech Lake Tribe
  • Radon testing during energy retrofit activities - Peter Diethrich, Southern Ute Tribe
  • Radon mitigation for homes - Peter Diethrich, Southern Ute Tribe

Presenters
Twa-le Abrahamson-Swan. Twa-le is the Air Quality Program Manager for the Spokane Tribe of Indians located in Wellpinit, WA. Radon is a priority for the Spokane Reservation, and program goals include testing every home, school and office on the Reservation. The Spokane Tribe is also in the process of developing building codes which will include Radon Resistance New Construction, and providing training for local construction workers and contractors on radon mitigation. Twa-le also hosts a weekly radio show, InnerTribal Beat, that covers environmental news for the Tribes in the Northwest, as well as a variety of Native American music.

Peter Diethrich. Peter is the General Assistance Program (GAP) Manager for the Southern Ute Indian Tribe's Environmental Program Division. He received certifications for Radon Measurement and Mitigation through the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs Physics Department. Indoor air quality is one of the responsibilities of the GAP Manager and radon is the priority within the IAQ program. Radon testing has been ongoing on the SUIR since 2003 and the program purchased two continuous radon monitors in 2009 with grant funding. The continuous monitors give the program accurate and timely radon data that is being used to better understand the radon problem on the reservation.

Brandy Toft. Brandy is the Air Quality Specialist for Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, She has worked with the Leech Lake Air Program to obtain and implement a variety of air quality improvement projects: alternative energies including solar and wind, diesel retrofitting and emission reductions, radon testing and mitigation, burn barrel mitigation, indoor air quality assessments, along with monitoring for particulate matter (2.5 micron), wet deposition mercury, dioxins, and meteorological data collection.

Indoor Air Quality in Schools Webinar
Will be announced soon.

Indoor Air Quality considerations for Energy Retrofits Webinar
Will be announced soon.

For more information please contact:
Mansel Nelson, Sr. Program Coordinator
Tel: 928/523-1275
Email: Mansel.Nelson@nau.edu


Last updated: May 15, 2013

 

© 2007 Arizona Board of Regents.
Northern Arizona University, South San Francisco Street, Flagstaff, Arizona 86011